Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala Receives 2016 Global Fairness Award


Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, a former minister
of finance, was on Thursday, December 1, honored with the Global
Fairness Award in Washington DC, United States.

The award was presented to her by the
Global Fairness Initiative in recognition of her contribution to
sustainable development, through service, and her consistent focus on
implementing development programs that benefit the poor and less

Speaking at the event in Washington DC,
Dr. Okonjo-Iweala expressed gratitude for the recognition and pledged to
continue to fight for fairness for the less privileged.
“I appreciate the Trustees of the Global
Fairness Award for recognizing a lifetime devoted to development,
including the privilege I have now of working for children’s
immunization, through Gavi, and for managing climate risk in Africa
through the African Risk Capacity,” she said.
“Let 2017 be a year of continued fight for fairness for the most vulnerable among us, and those left behind in this world.”

Other recipients of the award include
Cristina Liamzon, a development consultant and Ms Randi Weingarten, an
American labour leader, attorney, and educator.
The Global Fairness Initiative is a
not-for-profit international organization that promotes a more equitable
sustainable approach to economic development, ensuring that benefits
and prosperity are extended to all people, including the working poor.
Some of the notable personalities that
have been recognized and honored with the Global Fairness Award include
Robert Bruce Zoellick, the eleventh president of the World Bank, former
managing director of Goldman Sachs and Joyce Hilda Banda, former
President of Malawi.

READ  Port Harcourt-based Church post photos, names of 40 persons set to wed same day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *